Cleaning a Glass Top Stove

In the three houses that Steve and I have lived in togther, we have had a regular coil burner stove, a gas stove, and now a glass top stove.  At first I hated the glass top stove, but now I think I like it the best, in terms of cleaning it, at least!

Every night (ok, almost every night), I wipe down the kitchen counters, sink, and stove with my tea tray spray and a damp cloth.  This keeps things from adhering and encrusting on the stove too much.  Once a month, and I admit it should probably be more often that that, but oh well, I do a deep clean of the stove and sink.

no harsh chemicals needed!

It is pretty easy to do, but does take some time and a bit of elbow grease.  First, I spritz the entire surface of the stove, concentrating specifically on the burners, with pure white vinegar. 

I let that set for a few minutes, and then sprinkle baking soda over all the vinegar so that it “fizzes.”  Then I let that set for a few minutes.  The reaction of the baking soda and vinegar helps to loosen the gunk on the stove a little bit.  Plus all that excess baking soda provides an abrasive scrub for further cleaning the stove, but is soft enough not to scratch the glass surface. 

So once it has fizzled out, I scrub the stove with a sponge, and then wet and rinse a rag to wipe all the baking soda off.  I have to rinse out the rag and wipe the stove down a few times to get it all sprakly clean.  You can follow this up by spraying the stove with a glass/mirror cleaner and wiping that off accordingly, but I generally don’t bother with that. 

Oh, I clean the stainless steel sink the same way: vinegar, baking soda, and a good rinse.

This entry was posted in homemade cleaning solutions, keeping house. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleaning a Glass Top Stove

  1. Andy says:

    Hi;
    I like your fizzes solution because it will help do the cleaning

  2. Lisa B says:

    Thanks, Emily! I have the same here and I always pull out the Soft Scrub…but it’s almost out so I will simply not buy more of it and try your non-chemical way. 🙂 Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

