Tea Tree Oil Spray

tea tree essential oil

I try to spray and wipe the counters down every evening after dinner.  When I was deciding what kind of spray to use, I quickly realized that I didn’t want to use my homemade all purpose spray.  It has borax and castille soap in it and works great for actual cleaning of toilets and showers and things like that, but I wanted something less harsh for this daily wipe down.  I wanted to use something more potent than plain water, though, because I do live in FL, and mildew and bugs are a fact of life.  A face of life that I would like to keep off of my kitchen counters, if possible.

Ta da: tea tree oil!  This stuff is amazing.  It is a natural antiseptic and a natural bug deterrent.  It does have a very strong scent, but it is so diluted in this solution that it is barely noticeable, and not at all unpleasant.  I am happy to report that I have not had a single problem with ants since we moved into this house, and I really do think that it is in part to this spray.  It is very, very simple to make, too.

Tea Tree Oil Spray
32 oz. water
1/4 t. + 10 drops of essential tree tee oil

Pour oil into 32 oz. spray container.  Fill the rest of the way with water.  Shake before using.

To use:
Spray over surface.  Wipe with a damp rag.  Dry.

This entry was posted in homemade cleaning solutions, keeping house. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tea Tree Oil Spray

  1. Lisa says:

    Tea tree oil is amazing stuff it completely prevented me from having surgery on my wrist. I use it all the time!

Leave a Reply

