Homemade Mei Tai

me modelling the "back side" of the mei tai

As you know, I am already a big fan of babywearing.  I made the ring sling a few weeks ago, but I want to have a variety of carriers for different ages, stages, positions, and needs.

Now, this is hypothetical still, but it seems to me that the ring sling is going to be great for quick errands.  Steve and I have decided not to get the infant car seat/baby bucket, and are instead going to use a convertible carseat from day 1.  This means that we have to hold Squirt every time we get out of the car, which will be infinitely easier with a carrier like a ring sling.

Beco carrier

I also bought a Beco a few months ago, because I wanted a more structured carrier that would work for my long walks, and that Steve would also like to use.  I wanted something really easy to use on my back, too, for doing chores around the house.

But then I decided that I also wanted a mei tai carrier.  It is almost a halfway point between a wrap and a soft strucutred carrier like the Beco.  I wanted something more supportive than a wrap or ring sling, but less structured than a Beco.  I also wanted to be able to nurse in it easily, and since there is no fabric between you and the baby with a mei tai, breastfeeding is pretty simple.  However, I decided to make my own instead of buying one.  I wanted it to be reversible and have well padded straps, and frankly, I wasn’t willing to pay what that would cost me from an online store.  Another bonus, of course, is that I got to pick the fabric.  🙂

Steve modelling the "front side" of the mei tai

So after some online searches, I found this tutorial on how to sew a Scandi Mei Tai.  I altered it just a tiny bit so that it is reversible.  The directions are kind of complicated, but they make a lot more sense as you go along with them and see what you are actually doing.  I was surprised by a) how awesome this turned out and b) how quickly it came together.  And by quick I mean I probably worked on it for 12 – 14 hours, not counting buying, washing, ironing, and cutting the fabric.  This is certainly a more advanced sewing project; I definitely used some new techniques.  But if you are a somewhat experienced seamstress, it isn’t too hard.

It does look really good, and I am thrilled with the results.  Since mei tais are good to use from newborn on top to toddler, I am glad that this mei tai is quite sturdily constructed.  Just a few more months and we’ll get to try it with Squirt!

This entry was posted in babywearing, sewing/crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Mei Tai

  1. Michelle says:

    Wow, looks awesome! Wish I could do that! Want to come teach me to sew, haha?

Leave a Reply

