Cheesecake with Berry Sauce

My mom hosted a baby shower for me while I was visiting them in Pennsylvania, and I made a cheesecake for the dessert in lieu of the more traditional sheet cake. 

I had accidentally left our favorite cheesecake recipe here at my house in Florida, so I found this recipe on allrecipes.com.  I really, really liked how it turned out.  I don’t like desserts that are overly sweet, so this one was perfect.  I did alter the crust recipe, though, and I have posted that below.  I know it cracked.  My cheesecake always cracks.  But who, exactly, said that cheesecake isn’t supposed to crack?  I read about cooking it at 235 degrees for 4 hours and letting it set for 6 hours, all the while putting it in a water bath and not overmixing, it, etc., to prevent the cracking.  That sounded like a lot of work to me, when the resultant cheesecake is still pleasing enough to look at, albeit not gorgeous, and tastes the exact same whether it cracks or not

You can always trick people into not knowing that it cracked, though, if that is very important to you.  Pre-cut the cheesecake, and remove slivers of really damaged cake.  Or, top the whole cheesecake with melted chocolate.  It will settled into the cracks, and the people who get those pieces will just consider themselves lucky to get more chocolate!

Again, that sounded like a lot of work, and I didn’t care too much.  So to dress up my cheesecake and add some flavor, I made a raspberry-strawberry sauce to spoon over top. 

Graham Cracker Crust
makes enough for a 10 inch springform pan
2 packages of graham crackers
3 – 4 T melted butter
1 – 2 T water (or more melted butter)
1/4 c. sugar (most people like more than that)
1/2 t. cinnamon
1 egg white

In a food processor, grind the graham crackers to a coarse texture.  Add in the butter, sugar, cinnamon, and egg white.  Process to combine.  If needed, add in water, a little bit at a time, until the crust holds together in a clump when you squeeze it.  Press into a well-greased springform pan.  Prebake at 350 for 15 – 20 minutes.  Proceed with whatever recipe you are using.

Raspberry-Strawberry Sauce
1 pkg. frozen raspberries
1 pkg frozen strawberries
1/3 c. sugar
1 t. lemon juice
1 – 2 T cornstarch (optional)

In a saucepan over medium heat. stir together berries, sugar, and lemon juice.  When steaming hot, remove from heat.  Use a hand blender to process the berries into sauce.  If you want a thicker sauce, remove a few tablespoons of the processed sauce.  Add the cornstarch to this sauce, and combine thoroughly with a little spoon.  Stir this back into the rest of the sauce, and heat until bubbling and slightly thickened.  Cool.  Spoon over cheesecake after slicing.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheesecake with Berry Sauce

  1. Michelle says:

    Looks delish. I’ve never made cheesecake before. Perhaps I will give it a shot, esp since I left my ice cream maker in GA at my in-laws!!!

Leave a Reply

