Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

with a chyrsanthemum on top...not an edible flower, but pretty

I hosted a mother’s blessing party for my friend a few weekends ago, and she requested that I make carrot cake.  Since a) I also happen to really like carrot cake and b) I have a fantastic recipe for it, I was more than happy to oblige.  This recipe is from my Great-Aunt Bev, who is known in my family for her amazing dessert making abilities.  My friend Lizzy took most of these photos of the cake.  Thanks, Lizzy!

Aunt Bev’s Carrot Cake
3/4 c. oil (I used organic canola, but coconut or melted butter would work, too)
1 c. applesauce
4 egg yolks, 4 egg whites
5 T hot water
2 1/2 c. white flour
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt
1 t. nutmeg
1 t. ground cloves
1 t. cinnamon
2 c. grated carrot
1 c. nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour a bundt pan.

Cream oil and sugar together.  Blend in egg yoks, one at a time.  Add hot water; mix well.  In another bowl, combine dry ingredients.  Add to egg and sugar mixture.  Stir in shredded carrots and nuts.  In a separate bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form.  Gently fold into cake mixture.  Pour into prepared bundt pan and bake for 60 – 70 minutes.  Cool in pan for about 20 minutes.  Invert onto rack and cool completely.

I used this recipe from allrecipes.com for the frosting.  The only thing I did differently was to add 3 c. of powdered sugar instead of 2.  It made a lot of frosting!  More than was needed for 1 bundt cake, but it would probably be a perfect amount for a layer cake.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

