Hummus

I really like hummus.  It is a great way to combine protein, healthy fats, fiber, and carbohydrates all in one delicious package.  Plus, it can go on a sandwich, and is usually my choice of meals for travelling or hiking.

Hummus is kind of expensive to buy, though!  I make my own from dried chickpeas that I cook myself, and I also grow the basil in my garden.  I haven’t calculated out the amount of money I save by making my own hummus, but I am willing to bet that it is quite a lot!

Cumin is really the make-it-or-break-it ingredient in this recipe.  My friend Michelle showed me that one years ago, and it makes a huge difference in the flavor!  I also use a lot of basil, because I love the fresh taste that it imparts.  Plus it looks so pretty in there.  I use garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, since I hate when it doesn’t grind up all the way and you bite down into a chunk of raw garlic.  Ick.  The measurements are all approximate, as I don’t really measure my hummus anymore.  It’s a taste and see kind of process.  Also, if you are using chickpeas that you have cooked at home, you will have to add more water than you think to achieve a thin enough hummus.  It will firm up further in the fridge.  You could also add more tahini and more olive oil, but I don’t like those flavors to overpower the basil and lemon.

Emily’s Hummus
3 c. chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
~ 2 T tahini
~ 1 T olive oil
juice of 1 lemon
~ 1 t. cumin
~ 8 – 12 basil leaves
~ 1/4 t. + garlic powder
salt, pepper
water

Combine everything in a food processor.  Puree thoroughly.  Add water to achieve desired consistency.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

