Pumpkin Bread

pile of pumpkins at Catoctin Mountain Farms, MD

I have a serious obsession with pumpkins.  I think it has to do with my love of autumn–which, I might add, is distinctly LACKING in Florida, even if has been blessedly cooler the past few days.  But I do love a good northeastern autumn…when the days get crisp and clear, and the trees change color, and you get to wear my favorite outfit ever: jeans, a long-sleeved t-shirt, and Romeos.  I am not a big decorating person, but I do decorate the house for fall.  The theme is mostly pumpkins.

Since it is now October, I celebrated by baking pumpkin bread.  This particular recipe is not very healthy, although I do use some whole wheat flour to assuage my conscience.  But it is probably the best tasting pumpkin bread that I have ever had.  My mom got the recipe from a friend while we lived in Germany, and it has become my standard pumpkin bread “treat” recipe.  I hope you find it just as delicious.

I used 2 8×4 inch loaf pans, and one 9×5 inch pan.  It is supposed to make 3 8×4 loaves.  You could also, of course, do muffins, mini loaves, mini bundt cakes, etc.  I haven’t tried this recipe as an entire bundt cake, so let me know how it turns out if you do.  Adjust cooking times accordingly, of course.

Jane’s Pumpkin Bread
makes 3 8×4 loaves
3 c. sugar
1 c. oil (I used organic canola, but coconut oil or melted butter would work, too)
4 eggs
2 1/2 cups pumpkin (this is more than 1 standard can, but less than 2)
1 1/2 t. salt
2 t. baking soda
1 T cinnamon
1 t. nutmeg
3 1/3 c. flour (I used 2 c. white, 1 1/3 c. whole wheat)
1 1/2 c. chopped pecans (6 oz)
~ 1/3 c. water

Beat sugar, oil, and eggs together.  Add pumpkin and mix well.  In a separate bowl, combine salt through flour.  Add dry mixture to wet and mix thoroughly.  Add water.  It should be roughly the consistency of banana bread.  Stir in pecans.  Pour into well-greased loaf pans.  Bake at 350 for about 1 hour.  Cool in pans for about 20 minutes, then cool completely on racks.  Freezes well.

ps for a real treat, spread slices of pumpkin bread with cream cheese!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

