Crockpot Lasagna

So I got the general gist of this recipe from Fresh From the Vegetarian Slow Cooker, a cookbook that I highly recommend.  However, I changed the recipe enough that I am feel comfortable posting what I did as my own creation.  🙂  Really, you can use your favorite lasagna recipe that you would use for a 9×13 pan, and just make sure to use the no-boil noodles instead of the regular ones.  I am personally a big fan of the no-boil noodles, since I really do not like cooking and then baking.  Which is one of the reasons that we very, very rarely ever eat anything slightly resembling a casserole in this house. 

1 onion, chopped
2 – 3 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil
2 cups shredded veggies; optional; I had about 3 or 4 cups of shredded zucchini left over from making zucchini bread, so I used all that becuase zucchini cooks down so much
24 oz. cottage cheese
8 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese
1 jar spaghetti/marinara sauce; 3/4 cup reserved
herbs; I used fresh basil but dried basil and oregano would work well too
pinch of salt
1/2 t. pepper
1 box no boil lasagna noodles (I used about 7 oz of a 9 oz box)
1/3 c. shredded Parmesan cheese

Saute’ the onion in olive oil until translucent.  Add in the garlic for the last minute.  Transfer to a large bowl.  Stir in cottage cheese, mozzarella cheese, sauce (except reserved), herbs, salt, pepper, and shredded veggies.  Mix well.  I know this isn’t the normal layering technique used for lasagna, but this does make it easier and I tihnk it more evenly distributes the ingredients in the “filling.”  Steve taught me that trick, actually. 

This is what the mixed up filling looks like

Spray the inside of the crokpot with Pam spray.  Spread half of the reserved sauce around the bottom of the crockpot to evenly coat it.  Place a layer of noodles over this.  You will have to break up the noodles into pieces so that it covers it evenly, since the crockpot is round and the noodles are rectangular. 

Top with a layer of the filling mixture.  Top that with noodles.  Continue layering until you run out of filling.  I think I had about 4 filling layers.  Top the last filling layer with noodles, and spread the rest of the sauce on top.  Sprinkle with Paremsan cheese.  Cook on low for about 3 1/2 hours.  Let it set for 15 minutes before cutting and serving. 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

