Squash–the easy way

Ok, it isn’t even remotely fall here in Florida, but I love, love, love autumn…when it is really autumn!  I know that winter squash is starting to be in season up North, and I can’t resist eating it down here, too.

The main drawback to squash is that it takes FOREVER to cook, it seems.  And well, this method does take a long time, but it is so easy because you let the crockpot worry about it for you!  I love how much easier the clean up is, too.  You also keep more of the nutrients than you would if you boiled it.  And you use less energy than if you roasted it in the oven for 4 hours or whatever it would take.

Winter squash
hot water (about 2 cups; you want roughly 1 inch of water at the bottom of the crockpot)

Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds.  I used two acorn squash, but you could use any variet as long as you cut it into chunks that will fit in your crockpot.  So if I were doing a butternut squash, I would just cook 1, and I’d cut it into 2 sections after I cut it in half.

Pour the water into the bottom of the crockpot.  Place the squash in there cut side up, stacking it in such a way that there is lots of room for steam to flow around, if you need to stack it.  Turn crockpot on low for 6 hours.  Scoop out soft flesh into a container and store in refrigerator, or continue on and make your favorite sqaush recipe. 

If you are going to stuff the squash, or roast it in the oven or something like that, I would only cook it for 4 – 5 hours in the crockpot, then do a quick roast just to enhanc the flavor or heat your stuffing ingredients.  The 6 hours made this squash really, really soft which is perfect for eating but I had to be careful to not scoop the rind in with the squash’s fleshy part.

Oh, and here’s  a quick hint for crockpot cooking in the summer/South.  Put the crockpot outside!  Almost all porches have some type of outdoor outlet that you can plug it into.  This really reduces the heat that builds up in your house, thus reducing your energy bills, too!  I discovered this during my first trimester of pregnancy when I could not stand the smell of food cooking but still needed to make dinner.  So I cooked on my sunporch!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Squash–the easy way

  1. Michelle says:

    Thanks! I have an acorn squash in my fridge that I didn’t know what to do with b/c I didn’t want to bake JUST the squash.

  2. Sarah says:

    I didn’t know you could cook squash in the crockpot….cool idea! I love to make butternut squash stew/soup, you just cook the squash down with a little broth and voila! Verrrry easy and delicous. And kudos to you girl for cooking in the first trimester……. I know that feeling! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Butternut Walnut Dip | Taking Back Homemaking

Leave a Reply

